The Dinovember Powerball: A Gallery

I suppose the mark of a true artist is that there’s always a “next”. That your work is never really done. If that’s the case, my brain has been set on making me a bonafide artist.

For the last month or so, I’ve been churning out sketches and drawings in the latest of my lengthy artistic undertakings. Draw Dinovember is a month-long art challenge/event that is held on Twitter, Tumblr, and other platforms shockingly during the month of November (though I’ve heard it’s being informally moved to December for 2019). Basically, any artists with a lot of passion/free time spend the month drawing a dinosaur a day, usually following some prompts or themes. In October, I thought to myself that participating in said event would be fun, get me to make some interesting drawings, and help me hone my Photoshop skills. And it accomplished all those things. Even if it was exhausting.

In addition to this, I thought I would put my own “spin” on it. I made a list of vague prompts/actions for each day, and a list of dinosaurs I never draw or talk about, and mashed them together to give myself some drawing prompts I likely never would have made normally. You can check my list out here if you wanted to check it out or follow along sometime.

Now, with Dinovember finally behind me, I’ve compiled all the pieces for each day here for your viewing enjoyment. If I wrote captions to each of these I’d be here forever, so it’ll just be the prompts and the pictures.

Enjoy!


achelou

Day 1: Achelousaurus horneri engaging in intraspecific combat (fighting each other).

sinraptor

Day 2: Sinraptor dongi out for a walk.

uteodon

Day 3: Uteodon aphanoecetes sleeping.

lufengo

Day 4: Lufengosaurus huenei escaping an unseen predator.

torvo

Day 5: Torvosaurus tanneri drawn from the front.

muttaburra

Day 6: Muttaburrasaurus langdoni with a nest.

buitre

Day 7: Buitreraptor gonzalezorum in vivid colors.

dicrae

Day 8: A speculative reconstruction of Dicraeosaurus hansemanni eating some eggs.

chile

Day 9: Chilesaurus diegosuarezi eating.

gigant

Day 10: Gigantspinosaurus sichuanensis in a dynamic pose.

shant

Day 11: A landscape featuring Shantungosaurus giganteus.

hypsi

Day 12: Hypsilophodon foxii falling off a tree.

eoty

Day 13: Eotyrannus lengi in a different art style than your usual (graphics).

preno

Day 14: An injured Prenoceratops pieganensis.

gargoyle

Day 15: Gargoyleosaurus parkpinorum in black and white.

hypacro

Day 16: Hypacrosaurus altispinus in the rain.

pelecani

Day 17: Baby Pelecanimimus polyodon.

anchi

Day 18: Anchiceratops ornatus with contemporary dinosaurs Edmontosaurus regalis and Pachyrhinosaurus canadensis.

avi

Day 19: Avimimus portentosus running.

dromaeo

Day 20: Dromaeosaurus albertensis engaging in intraspecific combat (this was supposed to be a raptor fighting some other dinosaur, but I messed it up and it still looked cool).

tarchia

Day 21: Tarchia kielanae drinking.

eoraptor

Day 22: Eoraptor lunensis protecting its offspring from a rhynchosaur.

mapu

Day 23: An old and weathered Mapusaurus roseae.

homalo

Day 24: Homalocephale calathocercos being eaten by Alioramus remotus.

raja

Day 25: Head and neck of Rajasaurus narmadensis.

sino

Day 26: Sinosaurus sinensis being aggressive.

nothro

Day 27: Sexually dimorphic Nothronychus mckinleyi.

salta

Day 28: Saltasaurus loricatus swimming.

irritator

Day 29: Irritator challengeri in the modern age. Photo from https://www.expeditionsalaska.com/.

scelido

Day 30: Scelidosaurus harrisonii interacting with a turtle.

 

Leave a comment